Things We Set on Fire by Deborah Reed

Okay, so I haven’t been reading so much this week. I got caught up in Witnesses, the French mini series that came out on Netflix this week. That was pretty awesome. Go check it out. Then I found a Danish show that was intriguing. And I haven’t been listening to my books on tape because I’m getting chased by zombies now during my morning walks and runs (Zombies,Run! by Six to Start. Soooooo much fun!). So this morning I borrowed/downloaded this book for free and made some coffee and poured in a generous dollop of Frangelico. It didn’t help.

The book opens with Vivvie hiding in the woods and shooting her beloved husband Jackson to death. It looks like a hunting accident to the authorities. Cut to decades later and the fractured family is thrown together again in one horrible instant. Vivvie’s long missing younger daughter, Kate, is in the hospital after a suicide attempt and no one is around to care for her two young daughters. She calls her other estranged daughter Elin for help and together they try to deal with these tragedies, past and present.

Oh this book wasn’t terrible, it just wasn’t very good. The prose was sometimes rather beautiful but more often than not veered into that shaky territory bordering on overblown, sweaty hyperbole. I just could not care about these characters, either.  I just finished the book so I could tap out this review an

Leave a comment